Member Spotlight – Joan Emmet

Joan Emmet is the Licensing and Copyright Librarian at the Yale University Library. Joan chairs the License Review Team which is comprised of librarians and E-resources & Serials Management staff who manage the negotiation and workflow of Yale’s numerous licenses for electronic resources. In addition, Joan reviews numerous other types of contracts and non-content agreements for the library and serves as copyright adviser and unofficial counsel for the library system. She works with Yale researchers so that they may draft author-centric publisher agreements; consults on copyright issues that arise within the Digital Scholarship Services; fields permissions requests; maintains a copyright guidance libguide; collaborates in establishing policy, workflows, and best practices within the library; and contributes copyright guidance to users of the library’s digital publishing platform EliScholar.

Joan previously worked as Associate Director and then Director of NERL before its move to Center for Research Libraries in 2013.

In the past year Joan was a principal member of the negotiation team for a new deal with Elsevier. Just recently Joan announced that she will be retiring at the end of June of 2019. NERL would like to take this opportunity to thank Joan for all her work and dedication to NERL over the years. She will be sorely missed but we wish her all the best.

NERL Core Members

NERL Affiliates

  • Boston College
  • Boston University
  • Brown University
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Dartmouth
  • Duke University
  • George Washington University
  • Georgetown University
  • Harvard University
  • Howard University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • New York University
  • Princeton University
  • Rutgers University
  • Stanford University
  • Syracuse University
  • Temple University
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Massachusetts – Amherst
  • University of Miami
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Rochester
  • Yale University
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Albany Medical College
  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • Amherst College
  • Angelo State University
  • Augusta University
  • Bates College
  • Binghampton University – SUNY
  • Bowdoin College
  • Brandeis University
  • Broad Institute
  • Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Bryant University
  • Bucknell University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Catholic University of America
  • Central Connecticut State University
  • Clark University
  • Clarkson University
  • Colby College
  • Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • College of Environmental Science and Forestry – SUNY
  • College of the Holy Cross
  • Drexel University
  • Eastern Connecticut State University
  • Emerson College
  • Emory University
  • Florida State University
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Georgia State University
  • Gordon College
  • Hampshire College
  • HELIN Consortium
  • Indiana University
  • Johnson And Wales University
  • Kenyon College
  • Lehigh University
  • Levy Economics Institute of Bard College
  • Loyola/Notre Dame Library
  • Marquette University
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Merrimack College
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Mount Sinai
  • New York Medical College
  • New York State Department of Health
  • North Carolina State University
  • Northeastern University
  • Northwestern University
  • Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Philadelphia University
  • Providence College
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Inst.
  • Rhode Island College
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Roger Williams University
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute
  • Salem State University
  • Salve Regina University
  • Skidmore College
  • Smith College
  • Southern New Hampshire University
  • Stonehill College
  • Stony Brook University – SUNY
  • Suffolk University
  • Texas Woman’s University
  • Thomas Jefferson University
  • Trinity College
  • Tufts University
  • Tulane University
  • Union College
  • University at Albany – SUNY
  • University at Buffalo – SUNY
  • University of Akron
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Alberta
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Denver
  • University of Florida
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Maine (Orono)
  • University of Maine System
  • University of Massachusetts – Boston
  • University of Massachusetts – Dartmouth
  • University of Massachusetts – Lowell
  • University of Massachusetts – Medical School (Worcester)
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of New Hampshire
  • University of North Carolina
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Rhode Island
  • University of the South
  • University of Southern Maine
  • University of Tennessee
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Vermont
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Vassar College
  • Virginia Tech
  • Washington Research Library Consortium
  • Wellesley College
  • Wesleyan University
  • Wheaton College
  • William James College
  • Williams College
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Yeshiva University

Benefits for Core Members

Core members are academic research libraries responsible for the governance of the consortium, direction of core activities, and strategic planning for the group. Core Members benefits include:

  • Selection of over 60 agreements for electronic resources from which to choose
  • Closely vetted licenses with rich terms and conditions.
  • Predictive budgeting through negotiated caps on Big Deals
  • Ability to help steer the NERL Organization

For these benefits Core Members pay annual dues.

Contact Us

Benefit for Affiliate Members

Affiliate members are able to reap the same cost and licensing benefits of core members for most license agreements. Affiliates, however, do not have any votes on any licensing matters and must agree to accept each license as it. Affiliate members pay a small administrative fee per license per invoice.

Contact Us

NERL Committee Roster

NERL Communication Committee

Charge: To guide NERL on ways by which the NERL governance body and NERL can communicate more effectively

Cathy Zeljak – George Washington University

Liz Mengel – Johns Hopkins University (Chair)

Fern Brody – University of Pittsburgh

Kim Maxwell – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

NERL Committee for New Resources

Charge: To explore pursuing the licensing of resources that falls outside of NERL’s current offerings

Angela Carreño – New York University

Bill Maltarich – New York University

Jane Strudwick – University of Connecticut

Leigh Ann Pope – University of Maryland (Chair)

Patty Gaspari-Bridges – Princeton University

Scott Warren – University of Syracuse

NERL Committee for Effective Licensing Negotiations

Charge: To look at more effective ways at negotiating with resource providers.

Cathy Zeljak – George Washington University

Gracemary Smulewitz – Rutgers University

Jeanne Shuttleworth – University of Pennsylvania (Chair)

Joe Harzbecker – Boston University

Breac Krash – University of Massachusetts – Amherst

Sally Wyman – Boston College

Check out our



Interested in becoming an affiliate member of NERL?

For any questions concerning becoming an affiliate NERL institution, please contact the NERL office.